Unpaper Towels Tutorial

I’ve been meaning to slowly cut out paper from our lifestyle so when I came across this tutorial on A Blossoming Life to replace paper towels with cloth, I decided there was no better time than the present. It’ll feel good to make an environmentally responsible choice as well as it’ll save us some money!

I made a trip to Joann Fabrics and picked up some terry cloth and a cute cotton print that I thought would go well in our kitchen.  I cut 16 11″x11″ squares from both the terry cloth and the cotton.

100_0985

Next, I pinned each terry cloth and cotton square together and sewed 2 diagonal lines through the squares in order to prevent the fabric from shifting. I then serged each edge and trimmed off any extra threads.

100_0994

Instead of using velcro like the original tutorial, I decided to use snaps instead as they’re more durable – and I loved how I had snaps to match the fabric!

100_0999

Then I just attached all the squares together and stuck them on my paper towel holder.

100_1000

Here they are in their new home in the kitchen!

Anyone else making any “green” changes to their homes lately?

94CCB1A308241D211B8DD136AA57ECB1

2 thoughts on “Unpaper Towels Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Homemade Laundry Detergent | Home Amazing

  2. Pingback: Homemade Laundry Detergent | Home Amazing

Leave a Reply

