Homemade Laundry Detergent

So, I’ll admit it… I have a pinterest addiction.  Seriously, I am obsessed with pinterest.  I will pin anything and everything.  The problem with pinterest is the fact that I have a bazillion “pins” and never actually do anything with them! So I made a resolution to try to tackle one of my pins every week, whether it be a recipe, craft, or whatever.

My first post about a pin that I’ve successfully tackled is about homemade laundry detergent. As I mentioned in my post about Unpaper Towels, we’re trying to start living a little greener. I pinned something awhile ago about how to make your own laundry detergent and when we ran out this weekend, I thought it would be a great time to try to do so.

Homemade Laundry Detergent “Recipe”:

1 cup washing soda

1 cup borax

1 bar soap

100_1060

Seriously, that’s it… just 3 (cheap)  ingredients! If you can’t find washing soda, it’s very easy to make your own. Just toss 1 cup of baking soda onto a baking sheet and bake in the oven at 400 degrees for a half hour.  The baking soda will take on a different texture and appearance in this process.  The many recipes I found online recommended soap such as Fels Naptha or Dr. Brommers but when I stopped at Target I couldn’t find either of these so I just used a bar of Ivory soap.  (Is there something about major snowstorms that makes everyone go on a crazy soap-buying spree?) So to make the laundry detergent all you do is just grate the bar of soap as finely as you can, and mix thoroughly with the rest of the ingredients.  Use a heaping tablespoon per load of laundry.

I did a couple of loads last night using this recipe and my laundry came out smelling fresh and clean! I’m super excited to be using something that has ingredients I can actually pronounce and even better, is really inexpensive!

94CCB1A308241D211B8DD136AA57ECB1

Leave a Reply

